Polar Geography Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) was  officially formed in 2012. The goal of the PGSG is to provide a forum for exchange and collaboration for polar scientists from different disciplines.  PGSG holds annual meetings in conjunction with the AAG Annual Meeting, as well as co-sponsored other events. Membership  is open to researchers from all countries. PGSG is headquartered at ARCTICenter.

Polar Geography SG Board

Past-Chair, ex-officio
Andrey N. Petrov
Department of Geography
University of Northern Iowa
Jessica Graybill
Department of Geography
Colgate University
Scott Stephenson
Department of Geography
University of Connecticut
Member-at-large Member-at-large
Student member Student member

Members Home: Directory, News and Announcements

Honorary Polar Geographer Award

The Honorary Polar Geographer Award is administered by PGSG to outstanding individuals in recognition of their contributions to the geographical inquiry and exploration of the Polar Regions.


Mead Treadwell, 11th Lt. Governor of Alaska, receives 2015 Honorary Polar Geographer Award

Polar Geography Journal

Polar Geography is a PGSG partner and a leading interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal of polar research that offers a venue for scholarly research on the physical and human aspects of the Polar Regions.  The journal emphasizes the interplay of the natural   systems, the complex historical, political, economic, cultural, diplomatic, and   security issues, and the interchange amongst them. The journal welcomes comparative approaches, critical scholarship, and alternative and disparate   perspectives.